In the IEA Litoral there are two types of categories of individual resident researchers:

1 - Resident senior researchers, who credit 10 years of continuous research after the date of obtaining their doctorate or 5 years from the date of completion of their post-doc. Resident senior researchers who belong to a scientific discipline and do not have a doctorate degree or who do not demonstrate dedication to research through research projects financed by institutions accredited in the sector can not be considered as senior resident researchers. Within this category there are also resident researchers at the end of their studies, for those who have the retirement benefit at the time of residency; Resident researchers who develop in the IEA Litoral their sabbatical year in their academic institutions of provenience.

2 - Resident junior researchers, who have completed more between 5 and 10 years from the defense of their doctoral thesis and no more than 5 years after completing their postdoctorate and do not have more than 45 years of age.

In addition to individual residents, the IEA Litoral receives research groups every year for short stays.